# Shiksha Mandal's Bajaj College of Science, Wardha Department of Physics Report on the National Photo Essay Competition in Physics

## 26th March 2024

t the College, by

We are pleased to submit a report on the recently concluded National Photo Essay Competition in Physics (NPECP), organized by Bajaj College of Science in collaboration with Sub Regional Council 08E Vidarbha region of Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT). The event served as a platform for undergraduate and postgraduate students from 16 different universities across the country to showcase their creativity, scientific knowledge, and artistic skills through captivating photo essays. Over 50 submissions were received, out of which 37 participants were selected for evaluation based on the competition's rules and regulations. The competition, held in conjunction with National Science Day, aimed to celebrate the fusion of art and science and provide recognition to talented students in the field of physics. The event witnessed a virtual gathering where the top 10 photo essays were unveiled, and winners were announced on 24th March 2024.

Event was hosted by the coordinator Dr. Govinda Lakhotiya. Dr. S.W. Anwane, President of RC08E introduced the activities by the newly opened SRC. Principal Bajaj College of Science, Dr. PV Tekade, the National President of IAPT, Prof. PK Ahluwalia, and guest of honor Dr. Raka Dhabade, among others who were welcomed by Prof. Anwane. The competition evaluators, Prof. Sunil Pandey, Dr. Prakash Durugkar, and our convener Dr. Sanjay Bagade, played a crucial role in evaluating the submissions and determining the winners who were introduced by Prof. Anwane.

The photo essays featuring the top 10 participants were introduced to the audience and received high praise. The event also featured a special address by Dr. Raka Dabhade, who shared her insights and experiences from her tenure as a physics faculty member and her involvement in guiding students through the Astro club at the institute for the past 25 years. Dr. Dabhade announced the winners of the photo essay competition as follows: Ms. Romachita Choudhary from Pandu College (Guwahati University) secured the first prize of Rs. 6000 for her captivating work on "Supernova: The Grand Finale of a Dying Star." Ms. Malvika Naik from Xavier's College, Mumbai, claimed the second prize of Rs. 4000 for her engaging photo essay on "Black Hole Soft Hairs," while Aastha Shende from Bajaj Engineering College, Wardha, received the third prize of Rs. 2000 for her insightful essay on "NEBULA: Life of a Star." The remaining seven participants were each awarded a consolation prize of Rs. 1000. National President of IAPT, Prof. Ahluwalia, urged the top 10 participants to make full use of the IAPT platform for engaging in a wide array of activities organized at the national level. He extended a warm invitation to the achievers to attend the upcoming National Convention,

where they will be honored and presented with their certificates in recognition of their outstanding performance.Dr. Sanjay Bagade, Convener of the event proposed the vote of thanks.



Recorded event can be seen on the given QR code:

https://youtu.be/SUnKN4k5L-g7s//QOlc18wJ1BHaK9AP

Overall, the competition was a resounding success, showcasing the talent and dedication of students in the field of physics. I would like to express my gratitude to all participants, evaluators, guests, and organizers for their contributions to making this event a memorable one.

Warm regards,

Dr. S.H. Bagade

Convener

**NPECP** 

Dr. Govinda Lakhotiya

Coordinator

**NPECP** 

# List of Top 10 Winners:

Rank	Name of the Participant	Gender	Name of the College
	Romanchita Choudhury	Female	Pandu College, Guwahati, Assam
2	Malvika Naik	Female	St. Xavier's College (Autonomous), Mumbai, Maharashtra
3	Aastha Panjabrao Shende	Female	Bajaj Institute of Technology, Wardha
	Hariom suthar	Male	St. Stephen's College New Delhi, Delhi
		Male	St. Xavier's College, Mumbai
	Abraham P Joy Rushikesh Palsodkar	Male	Department of Physics RTM Nagpur University , Nagpur, Maharashtra.
		Male	Shri Shivaji Science College Nagpur
	Yugansh Kanoje	Female	DSC College of technology, coimbatore, Tamilnadu
Consolation	Sandhiya. B	Cinale	Ashoka Women Engineering College,kurnool,Andhra
Consolation	Kancharla Deekshita Reddy	Female	Davidooh
	B.Chaithra	Female	Ashoka Womens engineering College, KURNOOL, ANDHRA PRADESH





# National Photo Essay Competition in Physics

(National Science Day 2024 Celebration)

Organised by

Bajaj College of Science, Wardha (Autonomous)

In Association with

Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT)

RC-08E (Vidarbha)

# **Who can Participate**

Undergraduate and Post Graduate Student of Physics

from Indian Universities and Colleges

## Theme: The Wonders of the Universe

- Showcase the awe-inspiring images of celestial bodies, astronomical events, and cosmic phenomena that physics helps us understand.

#### **INCENTIVES**

- Top three photo essay participants will be given cash prizes of Rs. 3000/, Rs.2000/- and Rs. 1000/- respectively.
- Top 10 essays will be showcased on the youtube channel of IAPT.
- Top 10 participants will be given an opportunity to present their essays in the Annual IAPT convention.
- Each participant will get the e-certificate duly signed by the organizer.

#### No Registration Fee

Registration Begins 15th January 2024

Last Date of Submission 20th February 2024

#### **Event Convener**

Dr. Sanjay Bagade, HOD, Physics Bajaj College of Science, Wardha

#### Scan Here to Know

- · What is photo essay?
- · How to make photo essays?
- · Registration process
- Helplines

https://tinyurl.com/n63w3e38

## **Event Patrons**

Prof. PK Ahluwalia, President, IAPT Prof. Pradeep Tekade, Principal Bajaj College of Science, Wardha

#### **Event Coordinator**

Dr. Govinda Lakhotiya Bajaj College of Science, Wardha Whats App: 9579194076

## **About the Organisers**

IAPT: https://www.indapt.org , BCS: www.jbsw.shikshamandal.org



